MEDIA RELEASE – Turtle Nesting Season

The Environmental Management Authority has designated five (5) sea turtle species as Environmentally Sensitive Species (ESS) – the Green, Hawksbill, Leatherback, Loggerhead, and the Olive Ridley species. From 1 March to 31 August each year, we observe the nesting of these five (5) turtles. What an extraordinary experience it is to see their circle of life right before our very eyes. Courageous efforts are continuing by the relevant state agencies, non-governmental organisations and even individual beachgoers to protect these ESS and their habitats. However, many challenges persist when protecting these species; therefore, our duty as citizens is to preserve them.

× Send complaints here