The Environmental Management Authority is governed by a Board of Directors consisting of persons appointed in accordance with the Environmental Management Act, Chapter 35:05.

The Chairman and nine other members are appointed by the President of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago and are accountable to the Minister of Environment and Water Resources.

All members are drawn from the following disciplines or groups, namely, environmental management, ecology, environmental health, engineering, labour, community-based organisations, business, economics, public administration, law and non-profit environmental non-governmental organisations.

The Board appoints a Managing Director who is the Chief Executive Officer and an ex officio member.The Board selects from among its members a Deputy Chairman.

The Board also appoints a Corporate Secretary who is an employee of the Authority.

See below for our current Board Members and our Managing Director:

Nadra Nathai-Gyan


Ms. Nathai-Gyan is a graduate of York St. John University, UK with a Master of Arts in Leading Innovation and Change and from UWI in Zoology and Botany and post graduate courses in Environmental Biology.

Read more

Ms Judy Daniel, L.E.C

Deputy Chairman

Ms. Daniel was admitted to practice law in T&T in 1983. She accomplished her post-graduate work in environmental law and management at Tufts University, Boston USA. Ms. Daniel has extensive experience working on environmental regulations, policy and auditing in the Caribbean.

Read more

Mr. Gordon Paul


Mr. Gordon Paul, a successful entrepreneur, is the current Director of Finance and Administration at Melmar Homes & Interior, a Real Estate and Land Development concern that focuses on middle-income housing.

Read more

Mr. Ronald Adams


Mr. Adams has over 24 years’ experience in the Upstream, Mid-stream and Downstream energy sectors. Presently, he is the Vice-President of Gas Transmission & Distribution at the National Gas Company (NGC)

Read more

Mr. Vyash Nandlal


Mr. Nandlal the VP of Finance of the Heliconial Foundation as well as a member of the Board of Directors of SporTT.

Read more

Mr. Hayden Romano

Managing Director

Mr. Romano is the Managing Director of the EMA. He has extensive experience in the environmental, manufacturing and construction sectors throughout the Caribbean Region, a career spanning over thirty years.

Read more